Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

LCK 2017: Details, history, past champions

LCK 2017
LCK 2017 started Jan. 17.

LCK 2017 started Jan. 17. League Champions Korea is the official professional League of Legends league in South Korea. Each year consists of two seasons (called splits), spring and summer, and 10 teams compete in each. The league is played over 10 weeks in a double round robin format and games are every day of every week excluding Monday and Friday.

The top five teams qualify for the playoffs at the end of each split while the bottom two must defend their spots in a tournament with the top two teams from the Challenger series, a semi-pro league below the LCK. From 2012 to 2014, the LCK had three splits, including one in the winter, but went to two splits starting in 2015.

The 2017 spring split began Jan. 17 and will conclude April 2nd. The playoff dates for the spring split, as well as the summer split, has not been announced. The winner of the spring split earns a berth in the Mid-Season Invitational as well as points toward a berth in the League of Legends World Championship. The spring final will take place April 22.

Previous champions


Summer split: ROX Tigers

Spring split: SK Telecom T1


Summer split: SK Telecom T1

Spring split: SK Telecom T1


Summer split: KT Rolster Arrows

Spring split: Samsung Galaxy Blue

2013-2014 winter split: SK Telecom T1


Summer split: SK Telecom T1

Spring split: MVP Ozone

2012-2013 winter split: Najin Sword


Leave a Reply