Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

What is the EU LCS?

The European League of Legends Championship Series (EU LCS) is Riot Games’ official professional League of Legends league in Europe, headquartered in Berlin, Germany. Each year has two seasons (called splits), spring and summer, with 10 teams divided into two groups of five, with each team playing a total of 13 best-of-three matches: a double round robin in their own group, and a single round robin against the other group.

The top three teams of each group qualify for the playoffs for the spring split, while the two fifth place teams of the groups have to compete in a promotional tournament against the top two teams from the Challenger Series, a semi-pro league below the EULCS (think the English soccer pyramid), for the right to stay in the LCS for the summer split.

The 2017 season saw a large upheaval in the format of this league, which used to be a single group double round robin over the course of 10 weeks. The games were also a best-of-one instead of the best-of-three, with the top six teams advancing to the playoffs and the bottom two defending their spots for the next split in the promotion tournament. In 2016, the EU LCS experimented with a best-of-two format.

The 2017 spring split regular season started on Jan. 17 and will conclude on April 2nd. The playoffs dates and the summer split dates have not yet been made official, though the spring final is April 23 in Hamburg, Germany.

Previous champions


Summer split: G2 Esports

Spring split: G2 Esports


Summer split: Fnatic

Spring split: Fnatic


Summer split: Alliance

Spring split: Fnatic


Summer split: Fnatic

Spring split: Fnatic


Leave a Reply