Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

What is the Global StarCraft League?

The Global StartCraft League (GSL) is a tournament hosted by Afreeca TV, a streaming platform in Korea, and Blizzard Entertainment, the developer of StarCraft. The tournament is divided into two leagues: Code A, the minors, and Code S, the majors. Tournaments are held multiple times a year, without a set schedule or time of year when they are held.

Code S has a round of 32, running on a dual tournament format, with best-of-three series. Groups are comprised of four players each, and the four players are split into two pairs that play each other. The winners of those matches face off in a winner’s match, with the winner going to the round of 16 in first place. The losers of the initial matches face each other in the loser’s match with the final loser being demoted to Code A. The loser of the winner’s match and the winner of the loser’s match then face off in a fifth round, where the winner makes it to the round of 16 and the loser drops to Code A.

The round of 16 is also a dual tournament format, played in best-of-threes, with the groups made up of four people, and run like the round of 32. The third and fourth place players of the group will drop to Code A.

The round of eight onwards is run as a single elimination tournament, played in a best of five, while the semifinals and finals are played in a best-of-seven. All players that make it to the round of eight remain in Code S.

The GSL is broadcasted up to two times a week, Wednesday and Friday, and the Korean stream can be found on Afreeca TV, previously GOMeXP until 2015, while the English stream can be found on Twitch.

The following are the past five champions of the GSL:

2017 Global StarCraft II League Season 1

Kim “Stats” Dae-yeob

2016 Global StarCraft II League Season 2

Byun “Byun” Hyun-woo

2016 Global StarCraft II League Season 1

Joo “Zest” Sung-wook

2015 Global StarCraft II League Season 3

Lee “INnoVation” Shin-hyung

2015 Global StarCraft II League Season 2

Kim “Classic” Do-woo


Leave a Reply