Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

City Champs Season 2 expands to 12 cities

Super League Gaming announced the cities for Season 2 of its City Champs tournament.
Super League Gaming announced the cities for Season 2 of its City Champs tournament. Photo by Super League Gaming.

Super League Gaming’s League of Legends City Champs tournament has increased the number of participating cities from four teams to 12 for this year, the second season of the event.

City Champs is a tournament organized by Super League Gaming, and the upcoming second season pits the 12 cities’ best League of Legends teams on a non-professional capacity. Players of all skill levels have a chance to represent their home city through qualifiers that will take place Friday through Monday by purchasing a qualifier ticket. Players will be placed in tiers based on their ranking in League, then play six games in their role of choice, with the top players in each tier making the city team.

The tournament starts July 31, and the 12 teams will be divided into three groups: East, West, and Central. The champions of each group and one wild card team will proceed to the semifinals on Aug. 9, with the grand finals taking place the next week.

The first place team will receive a trophy, 5,800 RP per player, and the Triumphant Ryze skin. Second place will get 3,600 RP per player, third place with 2,700 RP per player, and fourth place will get 1,700RP per player. All participating players receive a mystery icon and a 10 day IP boost.

The 12 teams competing this year are from Chicago, Houston, Phoenix, Denver, Dallas, New York, San Francisco, Miami, Boston, Los Angeles, Seattle, and Las Vegas. The champions of last year were from Chicago, who defeated Dallas in the grand finals.

Cover photo courtesy of Super League Gaming


Leave a Reply