Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier tournament will have $1 million prize pool

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier tournament will have a $1 million prize pool.
The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier tournament will have a $1 million prize pool. Photo courtesy of Turner Sports/ELEAGUE.

ELEAGUE announced Wednesday its upcoming ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier tournament will have a $1 million prize pool, putting it on par monetarily with Valve-sponsored Majors.

The 16 teams will compete in four groups of four. Group A will take place at 10 p.m. ET Sept. 8, airing on TBS, with digital coverage also available via Twitch, and YouTube. Group A coverage will continue across those digital platforms starting at 2 p.m. Sept. 9. The same weekly schedule will apply for Group B (Sept. 15-16), Group C (Sept. 22-23), and Group D (Sept. 29-30), according to a news release.

The playoffs will begin with the quarterfinals Oct. 10-11, followed by the semifinals Oct. 12 and the finals Oct. 13. TBS will present live coverage of the Finals at 10 p.m. with quarterfinal and semifinal gameplay presented online.

Group stage play will consist of four groups (with four teams apiece) in a double-elimination best-of-one bracket (with best-of-three elimination matches), with the top two teams advancing to the playoffs. The winning team from one group will play a second seeded team from another group. The playoffs will be a single elimination best-of-three bracket.

The first 12 teams have been invited, and the remaining four teams will earn their spots to the tournament through open qualifiers Aug. 26-27. The format will be in a best-of-one single elimination bracket, and from the quarterfinals onwards, the format will change to a best-of-three. Two teams will advance from an Americas qualifier, and two will come from a Europe/CIS qualifier.

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2017 will be live streamed on both YouTube and Twitch in addition to live coverage on TBS. The first broadcast will take place at 10 p.m. ET Sept. 1, which will showcase the groupings of the 16 teams. Group A will take place Sept. 8.

This event marks ELEAGUE’s return to CS:GO, which was the organization’s first venture into esports starting last year. ELEAGUE ran two Counter-Strike seasons and the ELEAGUE Major in January. Since then, ELEAGUE ran the Street Fighter V Invitational in May and announced a world championship for Injustice 2 coming in October. Separate from event coverage, ELEAGUE will also produce a four-part mini series about The International 7.

The $1 million prize pool will be one of the highest non-Major prize pools in CS:GO history, trailing previous seasons of ELEAGUE and this year’s World Esports Games.

Cover photo courtesy of Turner Sports/ELEAGUE


Leave a Reply