Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

OpTic Gaming disqualified from ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier

OpTic Gaming was disqualified from the ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier
OpTic Gaming was disqualified from the ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier.

OpTic Gaming‘s recent roster rework has cost the team its spot in the ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier.

ELEAGUE announced Tuesday that OpTic’s roster changes were “inconsistent with ELEAGUE’s rules for the CS:GO Premier 2017,” which means OpTic will be replaced by another qualifying team. The announcement cited Rule 4.3.15 in the official rule book, though it seems that was a misnomer. Rule 4.4.15 states teams are allowed up to two players to be replaced on the roster prior to the tournament. In the event that more than two players are replaced, the team “will be removed from the tournament immediately.”

OpTic announced Monday the addition of three new players — Adam “friberg” Friberg, Emil “Magisk” Reif and Aleksi “allu” Jalli — to its roster. With only Oscar “Mixwell” Canellas and Keith “NAF” Markovic remaining on the roster, OpTic broke the aforementioned rule. OpTic was set to play in Group D of the 16-team tournament with Astralis, SK Gaming and one of four qualifying teams. Instead, a fifth team from the qualifiers (and third from North America) will reach the tournament, and two of them will go into Group D.

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier begins Sept. 8, and the group stage will take place each subsequent weekend of September. The playoffs will begin with the quarterfinals Oct. 10-11, followed by the semifinals Oct. 12 and the finals Oct. 13. TBS will present live coverage of the Finals at 10 p.m. with quarterfinal and semifinal gameplay presented online.

The 11 other teams invited to the event are Astralis, Cloud9, FaZe Clan, Fnatic, G2 Esports, mousesports, Natus Vincere, Ninjas in Pyjamas, North, SK Gaming, and


Leave a Reply