Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

EU LCS to reportedly split into four regions in 2018

The EU LCS will reportedly split into four regions in 2018.
The EU LCS will reportedly split into four regions in 2018. Photo courtesy of Riot Games.

The European League of Legends Championship Series (EU LCS) will be divided into four regions and encompass 24 teams next year, according to a report from ESPN.

According to the report, the regions will be divided into London, Paris, Berlin and Barcelona, Spain. The new leagues will house six teams each, and participating teams will be granted a multi-year license to compete, though a hard date on the licenses has not been confirmed.

The top two teams from each of the four domestic leagues will compete in a separate league that will run concurrently with the domestic league seasons, according to the report. That format would make it similar to the Champions League in soccer. The third and fourth place teams will compete in a play-in, and the fifth and sixth place teams will play in a open qualifier. Qualifications for next year’s League of Legends World Championship will be determined via the winner of the greater league followed by a championship points system that will likely be similar to what is currently used, according to the report.

The format change comes after H2K’s ownership group expressed its concerns about the future of the EU LCS. Four other organizations — G2 Esports, Fnatic, Misfits, and Splyce — have reportedly applied to be part of the North American LCS’ franchise system, throwing more potential uncertainty into the European region.

Cover photo courtesy of Riot Games


Leave a Reply