NA LCS 2017: Dates, details, history

The North American League Championship Series (NA LCS) is Riot Games’ official professional League of Legends league in North America, headquartered in Santa Monica, Calif. Each year has two seasons (splits), spring and summer, and 10 teams compete over the course of nine weeks. Each plays 18 best-of-three series in a double round robin for the regular season. The series are played from Friday to Sunday each week.

The top six teams in the standings of each split advance to the playoffs, with first and second receiving byes in the first round. Seventh and eighth place do not qualify for playoffs but do qualify for the next split. Ninth and 10th place must compete in a tournament with the top two teams from the Challenger Series, the semi-pro league below the LCS (think the English soccer pyramid), in which two winners earn spots for the following split.

The  2017 spring split started Jan. 20 and will conclude March 26. Dates for the playoffs have not yet been announced, but the spring finals are April 22-23 in Vancouver, B.C.

Previous champions:


Summer split: Team SoloMid

Spring split: Counter Logic Gaming


Summer split: Counter Logic Gaming

Spring split: Team SoloMid


Summer split: Team SoloMid

Spring split: Cloud9


Summer split: Cloud9

Spring split: Team SoloMid

Facebook Comments