Counter-Strike Majors: Details, locations, history

Counter-Strike Majors, officially named the Counter Strike: Global Offensive Major Championship, are Valve-sponsored $1 million tournaments that carry the most prestige of any in professional Counter-Strike. There are two and sometimes three Majors each year, and they are hosted by a rotating cast of tournament organizers.

The first seven Majors had a prize pool of $250,000, but Valve increased it to $1 million starting with the MLG Columbus Major in 2016. The next upcoming Major, the PGL Major, will be held July 21-23 in Krakow, Poland.

Each Major has 16 teams. The top eight finishers at each Major earn “legends” status and automatically qualify for the next Major. The ninth-16th place finishers must re-qualify for the Major through a 16-team qualifier.

Previous champions

ELEAGUE Major, January 2017: Astralis

ESL One: Cologne 2016, July 2016: SK Gaming

MLG Columbus, April 2016: Luminosity

DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca (November 2015): EnVyUs

ESL One: Cologne (August 2015): Fnatic

ESL One Katowice (March 2015): Fnatic

DreamHack Winter (November 2014): LDLC

ESL One: Cologne (August 2014): Ninjas in Pyjamas

ESL One Katowice (March 2014):

DreamHack Winter (November 2013): Fnatic

Cover photo courtesy of Turner Sports/ELEAGUE

Facebook Comments