What is ELEAGUE?

ELEAGUE is the joint esports venture between Turner Sports and WME|IMG, which launched in 2016 with a Counter-Strike league televised on TBS.

Season 1 of ELEAGUE started on May 24, 2016 with the first live TV broadcast at 10 p.m. ET on May 27, 2016. Season 1 ended July 30. Season 1 had 24 teams divided into six groups. The playoffs featured an eight team single-elimination. The tournament had a prize pool of $1.4 million.

Season 2 was held from Oct. 21-Dec. 3, 2016 and adapted Valve’s Major tournament format with 16 teams divided into four groups. The top eight teams of the previous ELEAGUE qualified automatically, and the remaining eight teams were determined by multiple qualifiers. The tournament had a prize pool of $1.1 million.

ELEAGUE hosted a Counter-Strike Major, the ELEAGUE Major, Jan. 22-29 in Atlanta, Georgia. ELEAGUE hosted the Overwatch Open in conjunction with FaceIt, starting in July 2016, ending with Misfits defeating EnVyUs 3-1 in the Sept. 30 final.

ELEAGUE will also host the Street Fighter V tournament starting March 27. It will run through May 28 and feature 32 players, half invited and half based on results in the Capcom Pro Tour.

Previous champions

Season 1 (CSGO): Virtus.pro

Overwatch Open: Misfits


Season 2 (CSGO): OpTic Gaming

ELEAGUE Major (CSGO): Astralis



Leave a Reply