Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

ELEAGUE reveals teams and groups for upcoming CS:GO tournament

ELEAGUE announced Wednesday the teams and groups for the ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier
Astralis, FaZe Clan and SK Gaming are among the teams invited to the ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier. Photo courtesy of Turner Sports.

ELEAGUE announced Wednesday the teams and groups for the ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier tournament that begins in September.

The 16-team tournament features four groups of four, with 12 invites and four qualifying spots. The groups are as follows:

Group A

Faze Clan

Natus Vincere

G2 Esports


Group B





Group C


Ninjas in Pyjamas



Group D

SK Gaming


Optic Gaming


The 12 teams were invited based on performance of the players in the previous two seasons of ELEAGUE, and the format, prize pool, talent and finals dates will be released at a future time.

“Counter-Strike is an important part of ELEAGUE’s DNA and we’re thrilled to bring it back with a lineup of such elite teams this Fall,” Christina Alejandre, GM of ELEAGUE and Vice President of esports for Turner Sports, said in a news release.  “We’re also looking forward to a number of compelling storylines including those surrounding the open qualifier and a very competitive tournament field.”

The remaining four teams will earn their spots to the tournament through open qualifiers Aug. 26-27. The format will be in a best-of-one single elimination bracket, and from the quarterfinals onwards, the format will change to a best-of-three. Two teams will advance from an Americas qualifier, and two will come from a Europe/CIS qualifier.

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2017 will be live streamed on both YouTube and Twitch in addition to live coverage on TBS. The first broadcast will take place at 10 p.m. ET Sept. 1, which will showcase the groupings of the 16 teams. Group A will take place Sept. 8.

This event marks ELEAGUE’s return to CS:GO, which was the organization’s first venture into esports starting last year. ELEAGUE ran two Counter-Strike seasons and the ELEAGUE Major in January. Since then, ELEAGUE ran the Street Fighter V Invitational in May and announced a world championship for Injustice 2 coming in October. Separate from event coverage, ELEAGUE will also produce a four-part mini series about The International 7.

Cover photo courtesy of Turner Sports/ELEAGUE


Leave a Reply