Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

Worlds groups revealed for play-in and group stages

The Worlds groups are set
The group draw for the League of Legends World Championship took place Tuesday. Photo courtesy of Riot Games.

The group draw for the League of Legends World Championship took place Tuesday morning, and worlds groups have been decided for the play-in and group stages.

The newly created play-in stage for worlds will feature 12 teams divided into four groups of three. Round 1 of the play-in will be played in a double round robin with best-of-one games, and the top two from each group will reach to the next round. Round 2 will be played in best-of-five series, with the winners advancing to the group stage. The groups for the play-in are as follows:

Group A

Team WE (China)

Gambit (CIS)

Lyon Gaming (Latin America North)

Group B

Cloud9 (North America)

Team oNe Esports (Brazil)

Dire Wolves (Oceania)

Group C

Fnatic (Europe)

Young Generation (Southeast Asia)

Kaos Latin Gamers (Latin America South)

Group D

Hong Kong Attitude (LMS)

1907 Fenerbahçe (Turkey)

Rampage (Japan)

The winners of the play-in stage will be added to the open four spots in the group stage. The 16 competing teams will be divided into four groups of four, playing in a double round robin best-of-one games, and the top two teams of each group will move onto the knockout stage, a single elimination tournament played in a best-of-five series. It’s important to note that the seeding rules for the group stage from the play-in will not allow two teams of the same region be in the same group. The group stage draw went as follows:

Group A 

EDward Gaming (China)

SK Telecom T1 (Korea)

ahq e-Sports Club (LMS)

Play-in team

Group B

Longzhu Gaming (Korea)

Immortals (North America)

Gigabyte Marines (Southeast Asia)

Play-in team

Group C

G2 Esports (Europe)

Samsung Galaxy (Korea)

Royal Never Give Up (China)

Play-in team

Group D

Flash Wolves (LMS)

Misfits (Europe)

Team SoloMid (North America)

Play-in team

Worlds will begin on Sept. 23 with the play-in stage, and will continue until Nov. 4, when the champion of Season 7 will be crowned. The advancing play-in teams will be drawn into their groups before the group stage begins.

Cover photo courtesy of Riot Games


Leave a Reply