Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

Faker, Bengi, Wolf and Smeb highlight nominations for esports Hall of Fame in Korea

Faker, Wolf, Bengi and Smeb are all up for the esports Hall of Fame in Korea
Faker and Wolf are among the nominees for the esports Hall of Fame in Korea. Photo courtesy of Riot Games.

South Korea’s Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism and the Korea Creative Content Agency announced Thursday the esports Hall of Fame ceremony will be held in November, and six players will be honored. League of legends favorites such as Faker, Bengi and Wolf are among the nominees.

According to a news release, six prominent Korean professionals across various esports will be added to the Hall of Fame in the “Stars Zone.” A panel of judges made up of industry experts decided on the pool of 17 nominees, and an online vote will determine the six honorees. The chosen players will keep their places in the Stars Zone for the next year until the vote opens up for 2018. Fans can vote until Oct. 8.

The category of esports represented will be League of Legends, StarCraft, StarCraft 2, Crazy Racing Kart Rider, and Warcraft 3, and fans can vote for their favorite choice out of a pool of 17. Below are the players in each esport category:

League of Legends

Kang “GorillA” Beom-hyun

Go “Score” Dong-bin

Kim “PraY” Jong-in

Bae “Bengi” Seong-ung

Bae “Bang” Jun-sik

Song “Smeb” Kyung-ho

Lee “Faker” Sang-hyeok

Lee “Wolf” Jae-wan

Jang “MaRin” Gyeong-hwan

Hong “Madlife” Min-ki


Kim “Bisu” Taek-yong

Song “Stork” Byung-gu

Lee “Jaedong” Jae-dong

Heo “Jangbi” Young-mu

StarCraft 2

Kim “sOs” Yoo-jin

Warcraft 3

Jang “Spirit_Moon” Jae-ho

Crazy Racing Kart Rider

Moon “Ho Jun Carry” Ho-jun


Leave a Reply