Slingshot Readers,

We NEED your support. More specifically, the author of this article needs your support. If you've been enjoying our content, you know that a lot of work goes into our stories and although it may be a work of passion, writers gotta eat. If just half our readers gave 1 DOLLAR a month, one measly dollar, we could fund all the work from StuChiu, DeKay, Emily, Andrew (and even Vince). If you contribute 5 DOLLARS a month, we invite you to join our Discord and hang with the team. We wouldn't bother you like this if we didn't need your help and you can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation goes to the writers. We'd really appreciate your support. After all, you're what makes all this happen. Learn more

Phoenix1 and ENVyUs reportedly rejected from NA LCS

Phoenix1 and EnVyUs reportedly have been denied from the NA LCS
Photo courtesy of Riot Games

Team EnVyUs and Phoenix1 had their applications rejected to join the North American League of Legends Championship Series (NA LCS), according to a report from ESPN.

Both teams will be eligible to receive an exit fee, which is comprised of $3 million paid per each team accepted into the NA LCS that wasn’t already an existing participant. Any team that competed in the LCS or North American Challenger Series this year but is not accepted into the LCS for next year will be eligible to receive part of that money.

Both teams will have to release or sell the remaining players they have under contract. For Phoenix1, that includes Michael “MikeYeung” Yeung, Choi “Pirean” Jin-sik, Kieran “Allorim” Logue and Raymond “Wiggily” Griffin, who are all under contract until November 2018, according to Riot Games’ global contract database. For ENVyUs, the players are Apollo “Apollo” Price, Yasin “Nisqy” Dinçer and Alexey “Alex Ich” Ichetovkin. The contracts for all other players on both teams expire next month.

Riot announced the franchise model in June, giving teams multi-year contracts without risk of being relegated, and revealed last month the NA LCS will remain at 10 teams. The Challenger Series will be replaced with an Academy League. Team Dignitas also reportedly had its application denied.


Leave a Reply